The Moment You’ve All Been Waiting For

Or maybe not, it depends on how emotionally invested you are in things having to do with my prom dress. But I’ve been told that I’ve created quite the buildup, so…

Readers, meet my prom dress. Prom dress, readers.

And also my friend Steven, who was not my prom date.

This is Emmett, he was my prom date.

He gave me a corsage and everything

Steven, again

This is the closest thing I have to a shot of the back of my dress. That’s my friend Hannah admiring the front of it.

I had to throw this shot in here, I love the depth of it with the two boys looking the same way, and the action of it with my hair flipping.

And of course you know my shoes. I wore Tart Deco by Essie on my toes.

My shoes are way cooler than Emmett’s. And far less comfortable.

The clutch and rings are my mom’s. I wore Van D’go by Essie on my nails.

And since I know that you want to meet more of my friends…

From left to right: Miral, Taylor, Steven, Danica, me, and Emmett

From left to right: Thomas, me, Margot, Emmett, Miral, and Talia

These six amazing people are my closest group of friends. From left to right: Lucia, Hannah, Olivia, Sasha, Steven, Genevieve, and me

…Where’d Lucia go?

So about the dress. It’s vintage, as I hinted at before. It’s from the 60’s and was made by this guy:

I was so mesmerized by the design at the top, I took a picture of it in the in the store’s dressing room

Some people were surprised that I went with a short dress since it’s not the “princess” look I said I wanted, and all the other prom dresses that I mentioned on this blog (here, here, and here) are long. But in the end I’m glad I went with something different. Nearly every prom dress I saw, either in stores or in people’s pictures on Facebook (especially Facebook), was long, strapless, and pastel. Honestly, if I had worn a prom dress that looked like everyone else’s prom dress, I wouldn’t be staying true to my personal style. That’s why it’s called personal style. I like to take sartorial risks, seek out a one-of-a-kind dress, and fall head over heels in love with a short, black, velvet dress with a beaded silver and gold (together? gasp!) top, and wear it to prom.

When my sister saw the pictures, she immediately asked me what I was wearing on my lips and asked to borrow it. Just in case you’re wondering the same thing, I was wearing my NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Never Say Never. It’s amazing.

Now for the last burning question: where have I been for the last two months? Well, an island in the Caribbean, mostly. I tried to write this post before I left, I swear, but I have been having technical issues with WordPress. When I write a post, WordPress is supposed to automatically save it as I go. But occasionally it gets temperamental or something and decides not to save it. The problem is that I can’t tell that WordPress decided not to save it until I’ve already lost everything I’ve been working on. So my break from the blog was out of frustration. Then I went on vacation to a beautiful place with a lot of beaches. The downside is that it is a place devoid of fashion inspiration. And, at times, internet connection. But now I am back in New York and ready to blog. Speaking of inspiration, Fashion Week is just around the corner…

It’s good to be back.

2 thoughts on “The Moment You’ve All Been Waiting For

  1. Pingback: Shady Shadows | lookslike

  2. Pingback: While Away | lookslike

Leave a Reply

