Promspiration

Rent the Runway is pretty amazing. It’s pretty much exactly what it sounds like. I have never actually rented something from them before so can’t speak to that experience, but in terms of Prom dresses, it was my first stop for inspiration. Thus, Promspiration. If I had to chose a dress from RTR to wear to Prom, hands down it would be this drop-dead gorgeous Narciso Rodriguez:

I love how modern, flattering, and original the shape is, but what really makes it is the color. Who wouldn’t die for that cobalt? Purple is my favorite color, and this purple-on-the-verge-of-blue is drool-worthy. And those shoulders. Epically elegant, fresh, and chic. The structure and tight fit on top gives a nice contrast to the looser bottom. And we all know that fashion is all about contrast. The seams in the dress make for some beautiful lines. This is pretty much everything I’m looking for in a Prom dress: it’s not strapless, it photographs well, it’s not tacky, cheap, or tasteless like most dresses designed to be for Prom. I hate it when companies think that just because I’m a teenager, I have no sense of what looks good, and I’ll buy a horrible Prom dress just because the label says it’s for teenagers, not adults. Excuse me for wanting to look classy. Like this dress. This is a classy dress. Does it say it should be worn for Prom? No. Would that stop me? Absolutely not. But the price probably will. It’s $400 just to rent it, and the real deal goes for $3,500. Sigh.

4 thoughts on “Promspiration

  1. I continue to appreciate the build up to prom–the anticipation! What will it be–short, long, solid, print, SEQUINS (super 80’s)? No, not with the shoes :).

  2. Hey Jamie,
    I have been following your blog and your posts are really amusing!
    Going along with the whole prom dress search, you should check out New York City Vintage http://newyorkvintage.com/
    I think I mentioned them to you before. Anyways, this is where I got my dress, and it is a really great place just to browse. They have wonderful evening gowns.
    Check it out if you’ve a chance. 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Ultimate Princess Dress « lookslike

  4. Pingback: The Moment You’ve All Been Waiting For « lookslike

Leave a Reply

