DIY Peplum

For the past three years or so, I wouldn’t be caught dead wearing a skirt that’s anything other than high-waisted. Okay, maybe that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but when a trend is huge and I love it, I go all out. Peplum is going to be huge.

Peplum: A short flared, gathered, or pleated strip of fabric attached at the waist of a woman’s jacket, dress, or blouse.

The trend is blowing up, like, now, and as you all know, I haven’t gone shopping in forever. This do-it-yourself version includes two skirts, a simple, black, body-con skirt underneath, and something else that starts at the waist, flares out, and is shorter that the base skirt. The double-skirt-peplum thing was something I tried with my sequin skirt, with relative success.


Fashion victory!

patterned top: Vena Cava, vest-ish top thing: Rag & Bone, black skirt: Topshop, pink skirt: Roxy, boots: somewhere in Italy

I have always had a hard time finding a way to wear this skirt, but today I found that the peplum style works with it perfectly. Like my outfit? Comment below!

Happy Friday everyone, I hope you all have a good weekend.

2 thoughts on “DIY Peplum

  1. My mind is slightly blown. I’ve never seen this before!

    I was wondering, what do you think about thrift shopping? I’ve recently gotten curious in it since I’ve never done it.

    • thanks! I love thrift shopping it’s so much fun. Vintage clothes have much more of a personality and individuality that something that’s mass-produced for Forever 21. The down side for thrift shopping is that it can take a lot of digging to find a gem, but if you find something amazing, it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

