Trend Spotting for Spring: Sneaker Wedges

I really wish I was important enough to be invited to fashion week shows. That explains why I abuse my style.com app so much. But that’s not what this post is about. This is about… take a guess? Yes, trend spotting for spring. I first noticed this trend when I saw some of my favorite bloggers wearing these Isabel Marant shoes.

Let me just say, I loooove wedges. Despite my 5’9.5”ness, I love the extra height that heels give.  They can improve any unflattering silhouette and make my legs look way more awesome than they are. But, since my pain threshold is not at a super-human level, I can’t stand to wear them as much as I would like to. Wedges give height as well as support and are infinitely more comfortable.

Enter sneakers, the opposite of what comes to mind in a fashionable shoe word association. They aren’t necessarily ugly, just not particularly high fashion. Until now.

Enter the sneaker wedge, the shoe everyone will be wearing come spring. I know, I know, it’s weird. I was freaked out at first, too. It’s one of those love it or hate it trends, and it just so happens that I love it. Not the Isabel Marant ones in particular, those are actually kinda ugly, but the trend as a spring staple. I need to get me some fashionably acceptable sneaks. Since the absolutely beautiful ones like these Guiseppe Zanotti’s are, um, $650, I wouldn’t blame you for reconsidering your reconsideration of the sneaker wedge.

But wait, there’s more. Since the fashion industry works in mysterious ways, (just kidding.) a budget-friendlier option has surfaced in everyone’s favorite place to shop: H&M (kidding again.) But seriously, I might just brave all the poorly made clothing that people seem to think is actual fashion for a pair of these awesome shoes. $35 for the next hottest trend? Yes please.

And if you don’t think that white shoes are a practical option in New York City, I understand. I have an option for you, too. I like the black ones more than the taupe, even though they are more money. $63 is still not bad.

Happy trend setting!

Leave a Reply

